Bangles and Bracelets

Standard

image

 When I was a small girl, my grandmother once asked me to  wear bangles to a marriage party. The small glass bangles jingled sweetly and I proudly showed it off. She told me that the one who wears glass bangles that make the sweetest sound are blessed with sweet dreams at night!! I am not sure whether this is true or not, but it certainly did make me love myself a little more!

I believe that Indian dresses are accessories-centric. You can wear the most busy and richly covered saree and yet it would be incomplete if you don’t wear appropriate jewelry with it. Those who prefer minimalistic look often decide to tone down the accessories instead of doing away with them.  Of all, bangles for me remains the most sticky component of my jewelry box. It is difficult to coordinate them without risking being labeled as ‘overdressed’! And yet, when worn properly, they make the entire look ‘complete’.

Available in various materials and textures, bangles should be chosen carefully. Don’t go for match-match game of bangles with your outfit. Rather, use them to draw the prominent part of your dress. One can also wear them with jeans, skirts and other outfits. Play around with color and textures and you can have that perfect look!

Leave a Reply

